“The Use and Abuse of Technology in the Classroom”

I found this interesting blog post.  In the class ECMP we are learning about integrating technology in the classroom.  I found this blog post, from #Kathy Cassidy that looks at technology in the classroom and how to ensure that students are not abusing it.  

The benefits of using technology in the classroom are substantial, but I have seen firsthand how it can be abused a bit.  If my son ever reads my blog he might be embarrassed by this…

I went to the school one day, for something or other, and my sons teacher walks up to me and asked if my son had told me about what happened in school that day.  I thought it had to do with basketball being cancelled.  I was so embarrassed to listen to him tell me that while my son was supposed to be watching “The Boy In The Stripped Pajamas” with the class, he was watching “Super Natural” on Netflix on his iPhone!!  The teacher allows phones in the classroom, with the expectation that they will be used for educational purposes.  I explained to my son later that this was a privilege and that he disrespected his teacher by using the phone in class the way he had.  Anyway he had it taken for the day and was not allowed to bring it back for a day or so, after he apologized for being disrespectful.  This showed me one way in which the students could potentially “abuse” this resource.

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 6.10.54 PM.png

Anybody have any ideas of how to prevent this, other than shadowing each child, everyday?

 

1 Comment

Filed under ECMP 355, Uncategorized

One response to ““The Use and Abuse of Technology in the Classroom”

  1. It’s an interesting read! I really like how it ends with several “technology should….” I also found this http://bit.ly/1x2DWlQ websit that has some really interesting ideas. It also has a link to the Monkey Business Illusion (https://youtu.be/IGQmdoK_ZfY) that is a very good discussion starter.

Leave a Reply

